PDA

View Full Version : Who are your favorite authors?



Brave Sir Robin
10-27-2001, 06:32 PM
My personal faves are, in no particular order:

J.R.R Tolkien
C.S. Lewis
Edgar Allen Poe
Dr. Suess
A.C. Crispen
Timothy Zahn
Terry Brooks

bigbarada
10-27-2001, 06:41 PM
Tolkein (LOTR, The Hobbit)
C.S. Lewis (Chronicle of Narnia, The Pilgrim's Regress)
Tad Williams (Memory, Sorrow and Thorn Trilogy; Otherland series)
Arthur C. Clarke (Namely Childhood's End)
A.C. Crispin (The Han Solo trilogy)
Diane Duane (she wrote many Star Trek novels, including my favorites: The Romulan Way and Strangers From the Sky)

master jedi
10-27-2001, 06:52 PM
J.R.R Tolkien (Lord of the Rings)
George Lucas (Star Wars)
Dr. Suess (Cat in the Hat)

Jargo
10-27-2001, 07:02 PM
Terry Pratchett - the discworld series, the nome trilogy, the carpet people, strata.

Harry Harrison - the stainless steel rat series

Anne McCaffrey - the whole dragon series

Douglas Adams - the hitch hikers guide to the galaxy, Dirk gently.

A.A. Milne - Winnie the Pooh

Raymond Briggs - Fungus the bogeyman, Father Christmas, When the wind blows.

Frank Herbert - Dune

Charles Dickens - everything

Armistead Maupin - tales of the city

Mike Troxell
10-27-2001, 11:08 PM
Michael Crichton, John Grisham, Robin Cook.

Bel-Cam Jos
10-28-2001, 12:18 AM
Mark Twain
Timothy Zahn
Kevin J. Anderson
J.R.R. Tolkien
J.K. Rowling
William Least-Heat Moon
e e cummings
Dave Barry
Judy Blume
Jude Watson

Obi-Don
10-28-2001, 04:48 AM
Anne McCaffrey
Timothy Zahn
Kevin J. Anderson
The one who wrote Ender's Game[can't recall at this time,but loved the book]
Arthur C. Clarke

Fulit
10-28-2001, 12:23 PM
Edgar Allen Poe
Charles Dickens
Stephen King
Mark Twain
Maya Angelou
Mary Stewart (The Crystal Cave and other Merlin books)
J.D. Salinger
Michael Crichton (Congo, Jurassic Park)
and who could forget, good ol' Bill Shakespeare

Brave Sir Robin
10-28-2001, 04:01 PM
ARG! I forgot Phillip Pullman! He is probably as high on my list as Tolkien! Also J.K. Rowling is an author I have tremendoes respect for and whose work I love. She was voted second best for TIME magazine person of the year (number one being George W. Bush. proof that TIME knows absolutly nothing) :D

El Chuxter
10-29-2001, 02:41 PM
A lot, but definitely including:

Mark Twain
Jonathan Swift
Kurt Vonnegut
Richard Brautigan
Gabriel Garcia Marquez
Ray Bradbury
Douglas Adams
Terry Pratchett
CS Lewis
Stephen King
Tom Robbins
George Carlin
Tim O'Brien
John Irving

Bel-Cam Jos
10-31-2001, 06:32 PM
This is unforgiveable. I failed to list Joseph Campbell, my namesake! Mere BSLOS (Bad Song Lyrics of Shame) may not be enough to make up for it, but I'll try.

"... like an ocean we can work it out.
I'm running out,
Don't be mad about it, baby.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Yeah, yeah, yeah.
Ye-ah, ye-ah!"
:rolleyes:

Sith Worm
10-31-2001, 06:41 PM
Dear Sir. Robin,
I'm glad you can find such will power to ask this question. What with having to eat your minstrals and running away so much and all. I would have to say:

King George (of course)
and the almighty middle-earth creator Mr. J.R.R. Tolkien.

El Chuxter
11-01-2001, 02:27 PM
Don't worry, BCJ. I forgot Flannery O'Connor and several others.

Mandalorian Candidat
11-01-2001, 04:42 PM
Edgar Allen Poe's stuff is really creepy. Great Halloween reading.

The only living author I really keep track of besides John Grisham and Michael Crichton is Sue Grafton. She does those 'A' is for Alibi, 'B' is for Burglar, etc., series. I think she's up to 'P' by now (Posse?). For some reason I really find her narrative appealing and she bases all her mysteries in the SoCal area (Santa Barbara to be exact).

Bel-Cam Jos
10-07-2010, 06:44 PM
Cue the Dig Dug video game theme music! :goldenshovel: :yes:

I am trying to attend a Big Read author talk with... Ray Bradbury tomorrow! :eek: :thumbsup: That city is reading Farenheit 451 now. He was supposed to be at my city's BR last year, but his health issues led his publicist to cancel. :( Looking forward to it. :D

BTW, I'll add Spencer Quinn to my list (LISTS... :drool: ) of fave writers. His new "Chet and Bernie" mysteries are great... and I'm waiting for my library hold to come through. C'mon! :upset: :rolleyes:

JEDIpartner
10-14-2010, 12:19 PM
I like Adrianne Ambrose, and that's not just 'cos we are friends. :)

Neuroleptic
10-14-2010, 10:15 PM
Michael Chrichton (Jurassic Park, The Terminal Man, The Lost World)
Herman Melvill (Moby Dick, Bartlaby The Scrivenner)
Steven King (The Stand, Pet Cemetary)

JimJamBonds
10-15-2010, 10:42 AM
Cue the Dig Dug video game theme music! :goldenshovel: :yes:

Wow that is some nice shovel work BCJ! :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

As for myself I would say:

Harry Turtledove (alt history)
Lewis and Clark (no joke I'm reading their journals)
Alexander Kent (he did a naval historical series in the vein of Aubry and Hornblower)

sith_killer_99
10-15-2010, 05:06 PM
BCJ, how was the read with Bradbury?

I have many favorite authors,

Fiction
Edgar Allen Poe
Stephen King
Ray Bradbury
Timothy Zahn (Star Wars)
CS Lewis (Narnia)
Anne Rice (Vampire)
Piers Anthony (Incarnations of Immortality)
Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman (Death Gate Cycle)
Brian Lumley (Necroscope Series)
Ayn Rand (The Fountainhead, Atlas Shrugged)


Non-Fiction
Thomas Sowell
Friedrich A. Hayek
Milton Friedman
Dale Carnegie

There are others I am sure I have forgotten.:D

Bel-Cam Jos
10-15-2010, 07:29 PM
BCJ, how was the read with Bradbury?Wonderful! And I know I posted about it here somewhere, but my ancient mind fails me as to which SSG thread has those comments. :(

[edit] It's in the "Famous People You've met" thread!

InsaneJediGirl
10-18-2010, 12:09 AM
Edgar Allen Poe
J.K. Rowling
Ray Bradbury (the dude that got me into Sci-Fi!)
S.E. Hinton
J.D. Saligner
Timothy Zahn
Jude Watson