PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone box or study martial arts?

Jedi Master Silas
11-18-2002, 08:40 AM
I was very curious to see if anyone boxes or studies any form of martial arts. I've been boxing for two years and I dabble in shoot fighting, and basic Kung Fu. My husband is an accomplished martial artist. He studied Hun Gar, Tai Chi, and Chi Lin. I'm just curious as to what styles some of you all might study. Is anyone into strength training? Body building?

darthvyn
11-18-2002, 10:34 AM
in grade school i did about four years of tae kwon do, i studied jujitsu shortly, and in college i learned some tang lang quan - praying mantis kung fu - from a graduate architecture student. i definitely want to join a praying mantis school near where i live. i just need money first. i really have this strange pull to that style. plus i got monkey arms, so the reach helps with that style :D plus, every once in a while, i get the feeling that the mantis is my sort of "spirit animal" - one summer i encountered three of them in one month, and that was during the time that i was searching for schools... i eventually found one nearby, and am just waiting to gather up enough funds...

Patient Zero
11-18-2002, 11:19 AM
NINJA!!!
Banana!?!

Rogue II
11-18-2002, 12:41 PM
Well, I did Tae Kwan Do for a couple months when I was in grade school. But, I have been playing hockey since I was 5, and I found out the fine art of hockey fighting beats at least up to blue belt in Karate. My younger brother was a blue belt....it didn't help him much.:D

Banana!?!?

The Overlord Returns
11-18-2002, 12:45 PM
Whenever I've found myself in an unavoidable physical confrontation, I find resporting to a poke in the eye and a swift kick to the ole family jewels just as effective as 5000 year old mystic arts.. ;)

Patient Zero
11-18-2002, 12:50 PM
I use to take some form of martial arts a really long time ago. I also use to shadow box, but I kept waking up on the floor with a bloody nose.

darthvyn