PDA

View Full Version : Should the triligy be remade?

JediDBM
01-02-2003, 03:58 PM
I apologize to everyone who has probably hashed this over a thousand times, but I am new to SirSteves, and would really like to hear everybody's point of view about this. This was actually discussed at the dinner table lastnight, which if you knew my family, because of me, all are tired of hearing about Star Wars. Should the original triligy be remade in modern technology? I mean taking George Lucas' knowlege of special effects and the choreography of the lightsaber battles of today versus the first lightsaber between Obi-Wan and Darth Vader in ANH. Please dont take me wrong, I wouldnt be a Star Wars fan if not for the very first release in 1977 or is that 1978? George Lucas discovered something great, unlocked our imaginations and has captivated us for 25 years with his movies.

Patient Zero
01-02-2003, 04:01 PM
It will never happen. Besides I could never except any other actors portraying the characters.

If it aint broke, don't fix it.

Beast
01-02-2003, 04:10 PM
Nope, they fit fine together. Lucas even comments on the change in the style of the lightsaber duels between the PT and the OT. The prequels show Jedi's in their prime, where as the OT shows us the remains of the Jedi order. Ben is old and out of practice, Anakin/Vader is old and mostly crippled by the damage that happened to him. Neither of them are in shape for backflips and energetic lightsaber duels anymore.

Same with Luke, he's not experienced or even really well trained. Ben and Yoda only taught him what he needed to know to survive. They showed him basic lightsaber use. If it wasn't for Vader's age, injuries, and being out of practice Luke wouldn't have had a shot. Not to mention he got his arse kicked the first time, and only defeated Vader the second time, because he got angry.

MTFBWY and HH!!

Jar Jar Binks

Darth Trymybestus
01-02-2003, 04:43 PM