PDA

View Full Version : how does paypal make money?

derek
03-26-2003, 08:03 AM
i'm kinda new to paypal, and i was wondering how they make money. i know they have some fees for business accounts and overseas transactions, but for "regular joes" like me, it seems there are no fees to send or receive money. not that i don't mind using this sevice for free, but why don't they charge a small fee for all transactions?

here is a link to their listed fees:
http://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=p/gen/fees-outside

i haven't become "verified" by paypal yet, so if i'm correct, i can only send a certain amount of money before doing so,and i can't receive money, i think.(?):confused:

i've heard some horror stories from some who use paypal, like some people having their accounts and funds frozen, or sending money to the wrong person and paypal refuses to correct the mistake, but so far i have had no problems. anyone have any interesting stories?

*EDIT*

OK, now i see how they make money. you have to have a premeir account to receive credit card payments,and those cost .30 cents plus .7%.
http://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=p/gen/accounts-outside

Kidhuman
03-26-2003, 08:37 AM
Okay...paypal is an Ebay business. They probably make money through ebay transactions. A percentage of your Ebay posting costs probably go to paypal. So in turn supporting Ebay and selling funds Paypal. I could be wrong, but thats what I think.

QLD
03-26-2003, 08:41 AM
they were recently bought by ebay, which was a good idea, since most of their auctions were paid for with Paypal.

They also limit the amount of transactions you can have with a free account.

gibbspaulus
03-26-2003, 10:22 AM
They also take forever to process a payment! I clicked on "Pay Now" last Thursday and it only left my account today!

Jedi_Master_Guyute
03-26-2003, 12:03 PM