PDA

View Full Version : How to be a good or even great eBay seller..

Exhaust Port
08-27-2003, 09:53 PM
Ok, so I'm thinking of entering the world of selling junk on eBay. I've been wanting to get into this aspect of the internet but with my recent aquisition of a digital camera I've run out of excuses to get started.

What I'm looking for isn't information about how to post stuff online but how to do it well. What pitfalls should someone look out for? How do you track what you sell and when auctions end? How do you decide on your minimum price?

Any eBay veterans out there?

DarthChuckMc
08-27-2003, 10:39 PM
I'm not a pro, but I can give you my .02 cents.

You can track everything in the "My eBay" section. No problem there.

I've found that 7 day auctions are the best..not too short, not too long.

Try to post the auctions on a Sunday evening. When they end, it'll be the weekend, and an evening. More oppertunity for last minute bidders.

Start the bidding for .01-$1.00 always gets you bids FAST, but you risk the chance of it selling below your cost. I usually start the bids at what I paid. If I paid $4.77 plus tax for a Mynock Hunt Chewbacca, I'll start the bidding for what I paid for it. If it is something over 2-3 years old, I kinda wing it. I know the price guides say Ep1 Darth Maul with black vest is $200 in ToyFair, but...the prices in there are GREATLY exagerated. If it's something older, check out the "Completed Items" link and type in what you want to sell. You can get an idea of what people are willing to pay, that way you don't screw yourself, or start the bid so high, people won't even touch it.

The MOST important thing......SHIPPING!!

I HATE it when someone sells something...for instance...the GREEN Clonetrooper army 3 pack for $10.99 Buy it Now....and then says shipping is $10!! Unless there are sending it Express mail or UPS Next Day Air, it AIN'T gonna cost $10 to ship a 1 lbs. package.