PDA

View Full Version : Should you be able to use Cell Phones while driving?

Tycho
11-18-2003, 02:45 PM
Well, this topic is about whether you should be able to use Cell Phones while driving.

I'm not sure I've taken a position on this yet.

I do use mine, and I'd probably use mine out of habit no matter where the law stands.

A cop has to see you to get a ticket, were it made to be against the law.

Hands free devices, voice activated systems, and a lot of other options make it possible for the issue to be more clouded.

Anyway, what do you think.

El Chuxter
11-18-2003, 03:01 PM
I'm guilty of talking on mine when I'm driving, but I take extra care when I'm doing so. I think most people who are going to be hazards when on a cell phone would be dangerous when eating, drinking, talking, or whatever else in the car. It's the distracted driver, not the distraction that's the real danger.

Exhaust Port
11-18-2003, 03:36 PM
Years ago when I drove buses for a living I had my first exposure to driving and talking. The radios that the vehicles were equiped with used a conventional handset that you would see with your standard home phone. As you drove you frequently had to answer radio calls or make some using the radio/phone. It was quite alarming how much you would miss as you talked, no matter how short the conversation. After hanging up I would not be able to recall the last few city blocks. Did I pass a stop? Did I run a red light? Did I cut someone off?

Well after my paranoia grew I did my best to only talk while stopped or only on deserted roads with requiring no navigation and with no, or very little traffic.