PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else love their job??

Bel-Cam Jos
06-14-2004, 07:47 AM
Inspired by the opposite less-positive title...

Well?

I'm a high school English teacher, with a little Yearbook advisor thrown in for good measure. Aside from the occasional (and sometimes frequent) frustrations with kids, parents, expectations, etc. things are great! I wouldn't trade places for my spot. I get to see my efforts make a difference. And, I get to integrate Star Wars into my lessons as often as I want (as long as they're based on education standards).

Examples:
- AOTC as a parallel to Romeo and Juliet (i.e. the forbidden relationship and its consequences)
- Playing "Into the Sewers" song from SOTE soundtrack during an in-class writing exercise on fears
- Leia and Padme as arguments against traditional gender roles
- My "Anakin/Vader shadow" poster as a visualization of foreshadowing
- Using "Who's more foolish..." quote as a writing prompt

It's all good! :D

Kidhuman
06-14-2004, 08:43 AM
I loved doing Loss Prevention work when I lived in NYC. It was great to chase shoplifters and occasionly toss them a beating.

RIght now, I am doing tech support for Dish NEtwork. It isn't bad, but it kind of funny to have people who are clueless when it comes to working a Satelitte System.

bigbarada
06-14-2004, 01:50 PM
I currently work at a community college in my hometown. Right now I am assembling a digital showcase of student artwork from the Graphic Design department. In the fall, I will be a teacher's assistant for the Computer Animation class. It's essentially a part time job, since I can only work 19 hours a week, but the only other options in my town are fast food or Wal-Mart. So I'm staying here as long as they'll let me (or until I can assemble a demo-reel and hopefully get hired by PIXAR or even ILM). :cool:

sith_killer_99
06-14-2004, 02:59 PM