PDA

View Full Version : Canadian Releases

greedo
01-09-2002, 09:53 AM
If any of the Hasbro folks are scanning these forums please read and reply or at least consider..

I'm in Canada, I have been collecting since 1977..

I find it very difficult to find many of the figures because they get cut from release in Canada. Why is this? Why does the Canadian line get cut short?

The only difference between the U.S. and Canadian line is the packaging, not the sculpting. Hasbro is loosing a lot of sells here in Canada and discourage a lot of collectors because of the above mentioned. I'm sure a large population of collectors quit collecting because they knowing that all the figures won't even reach our Canadian retail outlets.

I'm tired of having to pay double the regular price from comic stores and on-line stores, just to finish my collection and am considering stopping to collect... I have every figure made since 1995 and would like to continue to collect but can't afford comic store prices for every other wave released....

JEDIpartner
01-10-2002, 08:57 AM
Hello Greedo!

I totally hear you! For as badly distributed as the figures are here in the some parts of the USA, I can't even imagine what my life would be like up in Canada. I went to Japan in 2000 to visit relatives there. Imagine my surprise when I saw all of the last waves of Episode I figures there in huge amounts! There were tonnes of TC-14s, R2-B1s, Sio Bibbles, Amidala (Battle)s, and the rest. They also had all of the exclusives there as well- and get this... I found them all at Toys-R-Us! It didn't matter where I went. If there was a TRU, I stopped in- whether it was Tokyo, Osaka, Koriyama or wherever, they all had the same stock! I'm not sure what the collector's market is like there, but it would have been sheer heaven.

I suppose you have to go on the internet, as I often do, to find many of the items that you can't find, which sounds like an awful lot.