PDA

View Full Version : Need Advice On A Card Trade Gone Bad

WesleySr
12-29-2005, 04:28 AM
They always say that sooner or later, it is going to happen to everyone. Well, it finally happened to me. I got ripped off in a Star Wars trade.

I traded SWTCG cards with a guy in West Linn, OR. We were supposed to send our cards to each other on the Monday following Thanksgiving. I sent mine and sent him an email that night. He sent me an email the next day saying he would ship the cards out that day. I have never received the cards and he is not answering my emails.

Besides reporting him to GAB & other websites, what should I do?

Is there a way that I could find his phone number?

Would this be considered mail or internet fraud? If so, how do I go about reporting him?

JetsAndHeels
12-29-2005, 09:26 AM
I have dealt with this since I am a big sports card trader/buyer. The first thing you need to do is contact the post office in the city this person lives in. Inform them of the transaction you have pending with this person and explain to them your situation. Since you have this person's name and address then you could give it to their local post office and they can decide where to go from there.
Yes you could consider this mail fraud, but in all honesty the chances of them getting all hot and bothered over this one case are a bit slim. If we are talking small to medium amounts of money involved or whatever the merchandise is worth, some PO's do not get too interested in investigating.

*HOWEVER*

If this person you did your deal with has a repuation and a history of being negligent and a scam artist, then you may have a case. The only hard thing about this is you have to contact others who have been conned by this person so you have several parties that can make a claim against this person.