PDA

View Full Version : What are the most accurate versions of the OT's main characters?

WhereIsTheDefel
02-03-2006, 02:59 PM
I'm still getting started on collecting and I wanted to know your opinions on which are the most accurate versions of the major characters of the OT (the figures with a sculpt and coloring scheme closest to how the character actually appeared in the films).

I'm particularly interested in Vader, C-3PO and Chewbacca, but I would love to hear your opinions on any of the major characters. Thanks!

El Chuxter
02-03-2006, 03:09 PM
There's a lot of argument on some of these characters, but I think most everyone agrees that the ROTS C-3PO is the best.

The ROTS Royal Guard is easily the best Royal Guard by miles and miles.

VOTC Stormtrooper is the best Stormie, though the CommTech version isn't too far behind.

For Vader, I'd go with the Evolutions figure.

VOTC Lando is best, though the POTJ version is a really close second.

I still like the oft-reissued Cantina Han Solo.

I've not opened a lot of the figures I've picked up in the past year, since I'm running short on space, so I'm not able to give a well-informed opinion on most others.

JediTricks
02-03-2006, 03:35 PM
If you don't mind that ROTS C-3PO doesn't have his silver leg, that's the most accurate figure.

I suppose VOTC Chewie is the best version of the character. The best Basic version is Saga Chewie Cloud City ('02/38), this figure is often overlooked and does have permanently-bent elbows, but his look is top-notch.

IMO, there's still no definitive Luke figure, there are a few "least bad" ones but they still have yet to get it totally right.

I think POTJ Bespin Leia is the best version, but the VOTC is a close second (the face takes a while to grow on you).

Cantina Han is good, but POTJ Bespin Han is a little better IMO. There is something to be said for VOTC Han, but his likeness is cartoony in my book.