PDA

View Full Version : Action Figures in General

DarkArtist
03-08-2006, 06:49 PM
I was walking up and down the action figure isles of TRU today, looking for new Star Wars stuff but also just to see what's on the market today. As I mentioned in another thread on this website I am studying both Industrial Design as well as Toy Design. Anyway after seeing a large amount of figures ranging from GI Joe to Star Wars as well as Spawn, Pirates of the Caribbean, and many others to boot, I thought how cool would it be if all the figures were in the same scale.

I mean as a kid I loved mixing lines together, Star Wars vs GI Joe, Transformers vs Voltron etc. Anyway the idea hit me to cash in on recent movie figures such as Batman Begins, Harry Potter, Narina, even the marvel and DC characters all in 3 3/4 scale. I mean how cool would it be to see perhaps Luke Skywalker vs Snake Eyes, Stormtroopers vs Batman, Harry Potter and crew facing off against Yoda. I mean the possibilties are really endless, and I think from the standpoint of a designer and someone on a tight budget, the toy industry would be booming even more so now then ever before.

Also as far as scale, it would be easier to make diorama's, vehicles, playsets, and the storage space would be easier to save space. I love the idea of various lines being able to be mixed together and the thought of merging figures that might never see action together would be awesome. Also most kids these days to this on their own, but now they could really open up the field and make it easier for them to imagine. Think about it Batman takes on the Imperial Walkers. Optimus Prime vs the clone AT-RT.

Whether the idea will ever become a reality, who knows, however I felt I needed to state my thoughts and see what everyone else thought.

Blue2th
03-08-2006, 07:07 PM
It would be alot easier to make customs figures. I have seen parts that are taken from the GI Joe 3.75 line for SW customs.

shammykenobi
03-08-2006, 11:38 PM