PDA

View Full Version : Eyes Wide Shut

Tycho
11-30-2006, 01:51 AM
Tom Cruise and Nicole Kidman in a Stanley Kubrick film.

This one's entertaining so far. It's my first time seeing it however, and I'm not sure if it's something I'd buy for repeat viewings.

It's a good social commentary on sexuality thus far (I'm halfway through it).

Nicole Kidman was hot, hot, hot! I love all the gratuitous shots of her. In her day, she was a heck of a lot more than Katie Holmes will ever be.

That being said, all women age, and I think marriage and fidelity is unnatural, as this movie seems to be pointing out (to me).

Tom Cruise makes at least 4 mistakes that I have counted thus far:

1) Medical emergency or not, he should have gone upstairs with the 2 girls at the party. 9-1-1 is for emergencies anyway. He wasn't on duty and didn't know the situation until he got upstairs in the first place.

2) Once he did get upstairs, he could have taken sloppy seconds with the drugged girl (I'm kidding on this one).

3) He should have stayed with that prostitute. He'd already bought the extra time from his wife. And to pay her, "just because he wanted to," but for no services rendered? It works once in your life to make you feel like "a good person" I suppose. But no one cares in the end, and not even the prostitute would remember. So Cruise might have as well kept his $150. He didn't even get an STD for all his effort. ;)

4) The teenage daughter of the Russian costume store owner would've made a better bonus on the night. It would have classic if he snuck out on the roof of the building with her, while at the same time the cops were busting those older-men / Asian perverts they caught in the window display. (Were they going to have sex in the window display? That tops everything else this movie has presented thus far.)