PDA

View Full Version : Are you in debt?

DarthQuack
02-04-2007, 07:56 PM
Obviously I don't expect everyone to answer this with numbers, but I thought I'd share.

Credit card debt, $900
Car payments, $3000
School loans, $11000

Do you classify these as debts? I guess I do. Kind of a sidebar on this is paying rent. Dumping so much money in a place you can't even own has just been horrible. I've been in apartments since I graduated college back in 2002, and I easily dropped close to $17000 when I could have just lived home and saved towards money for a house. I don't understand how people are getting buy these days. Are they just making so much money? I don't know, I guess this is just a thread about having debt and wanting a house.

Kidhuman
02-04-2007, 08:09 PM
I would say 98% of people on the forums are in some sort of debt. I know I am and an working on getting out of it. Gonna take awhile, but it pays off in the long run.

Slicker
02-04-2007, 08:10 PM
The only one I'd classify as "debt" is the CC's. A car is kinda necessary and not many people can straight out buy one and the school loans are a means to an end. I classify debt as being money I used that didn't need to be.

My debts are as follows:

Car: I owe about $7,000 (probably less actually)
CC's: Not quite sure but it's under $3,000

I could easily pay the cards off in under a year but since I don't pay interest (I switch them over when the 0% interest offers run out) I'm not really losing anything and I'm gaining because I'm making constant payments and not missing any.

Luuuuuuke
02-04-2007, 08:56 PM