PDA

View Full Version : Collecting Variations?

logam Fett
02-14-2002, 03:02 PM
Hi all!!
I'm fairly new to all of this Star Wars collecting, I have about 400 figures in my collection and still I'm far away from completing something important like some of you have.

I had a question to all of you about collecting variations.

Do you think a collection will be completed if you have a figure with everysingle variation that came out, or will it be complete if you only have a figure.

Thank you

JetsAndHeels
02-14-2002, 03:20 PM
Welcome to the forums, Logam Fett.
To answer your question, I think it is upto the collector whether or not their collection is complete. Every collector is different in what they collect, how much they spend, etc.
The collector is the one who decides whether or not a variation figure is necessary to complete their collection.
For example, if I get a figure, but it still has a variation, I am not going to go to the ends of this earth to try to find the different one. I am a huge Fett fan and yet I do not own all of the different POTF2 Fett variations (half circles, stripes on hands, etc).
However if I was lucky enough to find these variations, you bet I would add them to my collection if I had the financial means to do so (as some tend to be rather expensive).
So if you decide that variations are necessary to complete your collection, that is fine. If not, that is fine also.

Rollo Tomassi
02-14-2002, 04:14 PM
I don't think card variations (00.01, 00.02, etc) are variations. but I think Clean Biker Scout/Dirty Biker Scout are variations. I'll try to get those kind of variants. Some variants I ended up getting unintentionally, like long and short sword Lukes Vaders and Obi Wans in the original POTF2 line up. I wasn't going out of my to get them, but it turned out that way. I also got freeze frames and green cards of figures I already had. But a spelling error (Imperal and Imperial) I won't go out of my way to find.