PDA

View Full Version : What To You Are The Main Differences Between Old Republic Jedi and the New Jedi Order

Tycho
12-15-2009, 05:26 PM
I was considering whether folks regard the Jedi Luke Skywalker trains to be "real" Jedi, or must they have a temple on Coruscant and go through a structured program supervised by a High Council to be "real" Jedi.

How do you regard Kyle Katarn - who's largely self-taught? What about those from unorthodox backgrounds such as Mara Jade (Skywalker)?

Do they have the moral authority or authenticity of say SaeSee Tiin or Kit Fisto?

What about EU Jedi from older eras like Ulic Qel Droma, pre-Sith War, or Odan-Urr?

Speaking of the older eras, how about the Sith?

1) There was space travel and intergalactic colonization, wars, and finally centralized government forming.

2) There were Force users, sort of like how the X-men evolved from mutants with abilities.

3) They were persecuted and hunted, and some organized a brotherhood, a fraternity, for training, and acceptable public service - the Jedi

4) Some Force-users rejected that and believed might-made-right. They fought in the original Schism.

5) The Dark Side users lost to the Jedi Order and were exiled since prisons couldn't hold them.

6) They went out into the Rim Worlds and conquered the Sith aliens. The Sith ruled by their strongest, and the Dark Siders quickly became their Lords, hence Dark Lords of the Sith.

7) They returned to the galaxy to conquer the Republic but destroyed themselves and the Sith civilization in the process. The Sith species became extinct from the wars.

8) Dark Siders that try to increase their personal power organized around the traditions and religion of the Sith. I think the original "new Sith" use the Sith culture as an excuse, but it's undeniably a good teaching tool. These were Dark Siders like Exar Kun.