PDA

View Full Version : dremels

fettbounty
03-01-2002, 10:26 PM
I need some help with a dremel question. I've been wanting a dremel forever to make my "Men Behind
the Masks" customs. I need to hollow out helmets and I'm new to using one. Can anyone help me with what accessories/bits to use for hollowing helmets? I've heard that they can cause the plastic to melt if you're not careful. Has anyone ever hollowed out a Chewbacca head to make a Peter Mayhew custom? Any help would be great!
-Keith

Obi-Don
03-02-2002, 02:34 PM
I'm not sure this will help you but here goes. The bits I use to hollow out helmets and stuff like that is a drill bit and some pointed grinding stone bits. If you know what I mean by that. I use the drill to get my hole centered and use the pointed grinding stone bit to shape the hole. No matter what bit you use. You will have to go slow and stop often to let the plastic cool. It can get anoying sometimes,but its better than having the thing melt on you. You might want to use something as a test project to get the feel of it before you start on the main project. I don't know a whole lot about customizing but I am willing to help you with what I do know. Most of what I have done, I learned by doing. I'm not great at it but have made some really cool figures and a lot of lightsabers. I have even got into making metal handles for my lightsabers using the dremel tool and files. If Jedi's when to a person to make thier lightsabers, I think they would come to me[I hope]. Anyway, just try and have fun.Thats what it is all about.

spacelord
03-04-2002, 10:09 PM