PDA

View Full Version : Lucas scaling back marketing - what effect will this have on Saga Toys?

scruffy_lookin'
04-22-2002, 03:29 AM
Well, I'd just like to say I've been reading the boards for about a month now here and the posts are great. Kudos to all of you for the advance information - I'm also new to collecting SW figs. I have quite a few from back in the day (I'm 26 now), but I wanted to start a collection and am more ready than ever for all the new figs and vehicles.

Here's my question/comment - what impact do you think the dismal sales (and overpopulation) of EP1 related merchandise will have on EP2. First, I think there will be a scale back on allotments, at least for now depending on how popular the figs are. I also do think that this movie will really wow alot of the people who lost faith in TPM. It doesn't seem like there is much hype for the figs right now, so many collectors will probably be able to find what they want. Right before/after May 16th, everyone might be clamoring for the figs. Here's a snippet of Newsweek's latest article: