Thread: novel vs film

novel vs film

Hi, Newbie here. Just curious as to why there seem to be discrepancies between the novel format and film of the classic trilogy...I'm curious as to whether or not mistkaes were made by the authors of said novels or whether Lucas himself changed the plot after some deliberation...

1) In the novel General Veers dies on Hoth due to Hobbie crashing his snowspeeder into his AT-AT vs his later death in dark horse comics...

...merely curious as he does not die onscreen...

2) Owen Lars is referred to as OBI-WAN'S BROTHER in the return of the jedi novel and The ESSENTIAL GUIDE TO STAR WARS!!!

Has this info merely become incorrect due to episode II or was this a misprint to begin with...a huge one at that.
    Just curious...
    "Well you'd better have my lunch on the table by mid-day or they'll be hell to pay."

Re: novel vs film

Originally posted by fatfatowenlars
    Hi, Newbie here. Just curious as to why there seem to be discrepancies between the novel format and film of the classic trilogy...I'm curious as to whether or not mistkaes were made by the authors of said novels or whether Lucas himself changed the plot after some deliberation...

1) In the novel General Veers dies on Hoth due to Hobbie crashing his snowspeeder into his AT-AT vs his later death in dark horse comics...

...merely curious as he does not die onscreen...

2) Owen Lars is referred to as OBI-WAN'S BROTHER in the return of the jedi novel and The ESSENTIAL GUIDE TO STAR WARS!!!

Has this info merely become incorrect due to episode II or was this a misprint to begin with...a huge one at that.
    Just curious...
    You're about to get a deluge of responses telling you that George considers only what's onscreen to be canon information. Fair enough. But see my numerous posts on why I believe he's contradicted his own canon.