Lightbulb What kind of video camera do you use ?

Hello, I'm in the market for a video camcorder and I'm interested in what other people are using and how they like it.
    I don't know much about this field so I'm trying to do some research. From what I've seen you can spend anywhere from $200 to $2,000 +

I just need this for casual use so I don't want anything too high tech. I have no aspirations of becoming a paparazzo.

Thanks for any input you have, I might have some questions because I am quite a novice here.
    Last edited by 2-1B; 01-13-2004 at 12:54 AM.

Caesar, I bought a panasonic palmcorder because I had found that I was going to be able to see my son for the first time in about 6 years. I had no idea what to look for and basically I had to get something relatively cheap since I also had to buy plane tickets, car rental, hotel room for a week, and tickets to Disney attractions. It works okay, but I think there are much better out there. One thing I'm not to thrilled about is the fact this uses a VHSC which if you want to watch the cassette in your VCR you have to purchase a piece that this cassette fits into. The cassettes hold only about a half hour worth of tape. I'm rather novice myself when it comes to any electrical, digital or video equiptment.
    2012 RFL Thank You to, TeeEye7 & Slicker!!!!
    Be an organ donor, save lives!

Just how casually are ya gonna be using this thing, Caesar??

Sorry, he started it.....

Yeah, ditto on what BF said, any one with a cartridge or any sort of "extras" required to hook it up is just designed to break easier.... try to shoot for something with a good and simple RCA hook-up if it's possible, that way you have options...
    Cassettes are another thing... ideally, you should just plan to dub raw footage down to standard tapes, or if you're fiming in a place near the VCR and such, record straight to VHS, as this is quite easy to set up....