According to and, Cleopatra Records has set a June 1 release date for "The Roots of Guns N' Roses", a collection of the very first demos recorded by Axl Rose and Izzy Stradlin before they became GUNS N' ROSES.

The album features five demo recordings that havenít been heard in decades, plus new remixes by former GN'R member Gilby Clarke. These rare tracks showcase the raw talent of Axl and Izzy that was just beginning to blossom into GN'R.

The story of GUNS N' ROSES began when L.A. GUNS founder Tracii Guns introduced guitarist Chris Weber to Izzy Stradlin in the parking lot of the Rainbow Bar And Grill. After jamming together at Izzy's place, the two decided to form a band and recruited a vocalist, Bill Bailey, better known to most as Axl Rose. Together, they drew inspiration from the diverse musical scene emerging in Hollywood and, with the help of drummer Johnny Kreis, recorded a demo under the name HOLLYWOOD ROSE.

For years these demos have remained in the vault, never appearing on CD. Now, Cleopatra Records is bringing these raw recordings to the masses. As a special bonus, Gilby Clarke took these recordings back to the studio and polished up the rough edges.

"The Roots of Guns N' Roses" (view cover here) track listing:

Original Demo Versions:

01. Killing Time
02. Anything Goes
03. Rocker
04. Shadow Of Your Love
05. Wreckless Life

Newly Remixed By Gilby Clarke:

06. Killing Time
07. Anything Goes
08. Rocker
09. Shadow Of Your Love (feat. Tracii Guns - overdub guitar)
10. Wreckless Life (feat. Tracii Guns - overdub guitar)

Newly Remixed By Fred Coury:

11. Killing Time
12. Anything Goes
13. Rocker
14. Shadow Of Your Love
15. Wreckless Life