Hybrid View

Any musicians here?

Just wondering if SirSteves forumites had any budding musicians on board?

Personally, I started playing an instrument only last year, when I was 23. I bought a Suzuki Digital Piano (resembles a giant keyboard, has piano quality sound) and started taking lessons a year ago.

I do moderately well for a working man who finds about a 1/2 hour a day to squeeze in some practice. Piano is a tougher instrument, because you have to worry about the melody and the bass line. Having your hands work on two different things at once, is not easy for me, but I practice and progress. Can't play anything near the league of any classical or pop perfomer, but I enjoy my easy piano books and hope to someday, be somewhere remotely as talented as them.

As for starting a band, I ain'ts got much rhythm, and playing in tune would be difficult, as I would make my bandmates pretty mad at me.

Anyone else play an instrument? Do we have any Elton John or Jimi Hendrix caliber performers out there?
    "The dark side clouds everything. Impossible to see, the future is. But this I am sure of - do their duty the Jedi will." --Yoda from Attack of the Clones.

Re: Any musicians here?

I play guitar and I'm okay with a drum kit; people say I sing really well too, but my strong suit seems to be composition

I've been thinking about starting to jam with a couple buddies again, but mostly I just work out tunes myself;
    currently I'm writing a reggae-style song called "boba fett uprising"

And we don't have a keyboard player at all yet, why not make the trip sometime LBC ?
    Something about him reminds me of my older brother, Rex.

Quote Originally Posted by mabudon
    currently I'm writing a reggae-style song called "boba fett uprising"
    Are the lyrics finished? I would be delighted to hear them.

And we don't have a keyboard player at all yet, why not make the trip sometime LBC ?
    Okay, but only if I get to play my Keytar!