Lucas on Writing

From Entertainment Weekly:

GL: ..... You know, I never expect anyone to see a script [of mine], because they're terrible. I'm a terrible writer, you know, but because I'm directing it, I don't have to write it (?), I don't have to show it to a studio, I don't have to sell it to anybody. It doesn't have to be written for somebody else to understand. So I write a minimalist script that has hardly anything in it at all.

So, he knows he's a terrible writer, but that doesn't matter, because he doesn't have to sell his scripts to anybody.

WHAT ABOUT THE AUDIENCE, GEORGE? Don't the people paying to see your movies deserve a screenplay written by somebody who isn't, by their own admission, a TERRIBLE WRITER?

Re: Lucas on Writing

LOL God no, your mis-understanding the meaning. This should clarify that part in the middle that doesn't seem to make sense.

He's not saying he's a bad writer in the creative sense. He's saying hes a bad writer in the thechnical sense. Part of a script writer's job is to make the content understandable to the producers who will be reading the script to approve it, the directer who will have to understand the intent of the scene, ect. Lucas writes about wookies, Spice mines of Kessel, Droids, Moisture vaporaters, Hutts, parces and hydrospanners. A 3rd party with no knowledge of the star wars universe, reading a script would be like "what the helll is all this, it makes no sense!" Actually they were like that, he had to shop atround ANH, paramount didn't understand one word of it.