Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

How come Hasbro gives Indiana Jones playsets, but denies SW

Hasbro has consistently said playsets are not profitable for them.

Indiana Jones has at least the idol capture playset from Raiders that I've seen a picture of.

And Star Wars? Yeah I thought so.
    BAD Pts Need: R5-C7 lf leg (x2), , R4-P44 right leg BAD Pts Offered For Trade: PM me - I have lots of parts now including BG-J38!. New Kyle Katarn is also available.

The only big playset for Indy is a repaint of the Mustafar playset, so that was just easy for Hasbro to make. And the others are just mini-playsets priced at $10. They're nothing special at all. But seeing the AT-TE can make one forget all about playsets for Star Wars. For the moment, at least.
    [FONT=Arial Black]"I'M A LEAD FARMER, MOTHERF***ER!!!!!"[/FONT]
    [FONT=Impact]Awesome Traders: JON9000, darkagent[/FONT]

That's a repaint of Mustafar? I'll have to take another look.
    BAD Pts Need: R5-C7 lf leg (x2), , R4-P44 right leg BAD Pts Offered For Trade: PM me - I have lots of parts now including BG-J38!. New Kyle Katarn is also available.

That Indy playset looks to be no better than the ROTS Mustafar playset. Is that something most SW collectors would want?

Just think about how much shelf space a playset would take up in the stores. They would have to place it where the role playing toys (lightsabers, blasters) and the 19.99 vehicles are currently.

Actually, I think that Mustafar remold/repaint looks better for Indy than it did for SW.

But Indiana Jones is more closely-linked to where he is and how he's interacting with his environments in a way, by comparison to how Star Wars is more about the vehicles.
    Darth Vader is becoming the Mickey Mouse of Star Wars.

"In Brooklyn, a castle, is where dwell I"
    The use of a lightsaber does not make one a Jedi, it is the ability to not use it.