Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Question on hanging ships from my ceiling

hey im just getting into this whole diorama thing (all my figs have been in collector's cases) and i was just wondering if anyone could give me some tips on how to hang ships form my ceiling...if it helps, i plan on hanging the naboo fighter, x-wing (power f/x version), tie fighter, vader's tie, and maybe jango fett's slave 1 when/if i get it...any help would be appreciated, and i thank anyone who replies to this message beforehand.

Thumbs up

If you'd like to do something like my Rebel Fleet Convoy, then you're in for a treat!

First off, what is your ceiling made of? If it's plaster, then you'll need some sturdy hooks to screw in for support. If it's a drop ceiling you'd just need to find some spots between the frames to tie your ships. Other than those I've mentioned, you'll need to get from your local hardware store the appropriate screws with hooks that will hold up.

Second, plan the layout of how you're going to hang them. The last thing you'd want is a ceiling full of holes. Make sure that the combined weight of the ships will not stress out the ceiling itself.

Last, I've used the mono-filament fishing line (10 lbs test) to hang my ships. This way I am able to get the pics without having to edit out the strings. Some have used wires to hang pictures which are also sturdy but would show more obtrusively than the fishing line.
    ACPin
    SSG Dioramas Editor
    ACPin Star Wars Webmaster

Hey you guys are great! I wanted to do the same with all the vehicles I have. THanks

I have plaster ceilings. So I went with J-hooks. People use these to hang plants. They usually come in a pack of 2 that includes 2 long headless screws, 2 folding anchors & to headless woodscrews. The J-Hooks actually attach to the screws. Your local discount or hardware store should carry these.
    Shop Smart! Shop S-Mart!