Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

When You Were A Little Kid, What Did You Want To Be When You Grew Up? How'd That Work

I had many things I wanted to be. Here's the list and progress report:

A Fighter Pilot - not a prayer. With my medical history, they wouldn't let me in any military service. And it's not like I didn't try - and my father was even an officer in the US Navy. He did arrange my start with private flight instruction and I started learning on a Cesna. I mean to continue and complete my pilot's license.

A Super-Ninja! - I trained in a black belt program for many years and plan to return to it when I'm cleared by my doctor. I did competition fighting, too. I'm not a "super-ninja" (whatever that is) but I learned to defend myself, take someone else down and restrain them, and I trained with multiple weapons and completed a bootcamp - largely to prove to myself that the military which wouldn't take me, underestimated my abilities and insulted me.

A police man - I went to Police Academy. September 11th changed the job description for what I'd planned to do on the force, and now the budget woes in my city have continued to do so.

A rock star! - in July I bought my first real six-string. "Bought it at the 5(hundred)-and dime. Played it 'til my fingers bled. Was the Summer of 2-oh-nine!" That being said, I still can't play one complete song, but I'm coming along on Nickelback covers I've been learning (Saving Me, Animals, Burn It To The Ground). I can also make obscene gestures with my tongue and fingers split into a "v form," just like Gene Simmons!